Coming Out of Prison.

Beelzebub’s Tales to His Grandson is a destroyer of values. The aim of the book is “to destroy, mercilessly, without any compromises whatsoever, in the mentation and feelings of the reader, the beliefs and views, by centuries rooted in him, about everything existing in the world.” These beliefs and views rooted in our mentation and feelings now constitute our prison. We are a prisoner of them.

The walls of this prison are constructed with material coming from two quite different sources, one cosmic and the other terrestrial or of our own making.

The cosmic one has to do with the operation of Nature, specifically, it has to do with the implantation in our ancestors of an organ called Kundabuffer which possesses two strange properties. The first property is that implantation of the organ made three-brained beings perceive reality as topsy-turvy. The second property is that 

“…every repeated impression from outside should crystallize in them data which would engender factors for evoking in them sensations of ‘pleasure’ and ‘enjoyment.’ ”

The immediate consequence of the singular properties of this organ was a modification of man’s psychic functioning, to the point that man became the prisoner of his own psyche. It is not very difficult to see how the two properties of the infamous organ contributed to the making of our prison. Due to the property of perceiving reality topsy-turvy, we now perceive reality not as it is but upside-down, as dictated by our prison. That is why it is so easy for each and every one of us to see the defects in others and so difficult to see our own defects. “Why do you see the mote in your neighbor’s eye and not the beam in yours?” asked Jesus two thousand years ago. Well, nothing has changed. Due to the second property of how repeated impressions from outside evoked sensations of “pleasure” and “enjoyment,” we now have prison-like being-impulses such as “vanity,” “pride,” “arrogance,” “self-conceit,” “swaggering,” “ambition,” and many others.

The first source of the material for the building of the prison in which we now exist is Nature Itself. But the second source is man himself. The fact is that later, during man’s natural evolution, Great Nature removed the organ from man’s presence. However, due to the operation of a law of Nature, the law of repetition, establishing that every repeated action nurtures crystallization, within every being, of remnant independent formations, most of the consequences of the singular properties of the organ remained, and still re-main, inherent to man’s ordinary psychic functioning and are now part of his prison. But the important point is that once freed from the consequences of the properties of the organ Kundabuffer, men had the possibility of escaping from his prison. And to a certain extent men succeeded in doing so. However, later and under the influence of the crystallization of the consequences of the properties of the organ, men began to create abnormal conditions of shared-common existence and these abnormal conditions in turn favored the reinforcement of the walls of his own prison.

Man is now a prisoner of Nature and of his own making.

Can man now escape from this prison? And if so, how does he do it?

If Beelzebub’s Tales to His Grandson were a book relating the details of the nature of the prison, the book were not self-sufficient. We know the book is. We know the book contains the other half of the story, namely, how man can escape from prison.

In reality it is very simple. All that is needed, according to the book, is a shift in consciousness. To be more precise, what is needed, according to the book, is a shift from what constitutes our present everyday ordinary consciousness, which the book refers to as our fictitious consciousness, to the real consciousness which is now our subconscious. The book tells how the shift of consciousness operates. Here is from pages 24-25 of the first chapter of the book:

“I wish to bring to the knowledge of what is called your “pure waking consciousness” the fact that in the writings following this chapter of warning I shall expound my thoughts intentionally in such sequence and with such “logical confrontation,” that the essence of certain real notions may of themselves automatically, so to say, go from this “waking consciousness”— which most people in their ignorance mistake for the real consciousness, but which I affirm and experimentally prove is the fictitious one—into what you call the subconscious, which ought to be in my opinion the real human consciousness and there by them-selves mechanically bring about that transformation which should in general proceed in the entirety of a man and give him, from his own conscious mentation, the results he ought to have, which are proper to man and not merely to single- or double-brained animals.

The secret of the shift of consciousness is indeed very simple, according to the book. It says that if we exposure ourselves to the material in the book, the walls of our prison, made of fictitious material will be replaced with new material which will allow us to escape from the old prison. And, what it is even more surprising, it will be done automatically and mechanically. Indeed a very simple secret.

About willmesa

I have been studying and working with the ideas of G.I. Gurdjieff exposed in his Opus Magnum Beelzebub’s Tales to His Grandson. The intention of this blog is to share these ideas with people around the world. For more information about me, please search in Google for Will Mesa
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Coming Out of Prison.

  1. Patrick says:

    Thanks Will, for your eloquent simplicity. Patrick

  2. willmesa says:

    You are welcome, Patrick. Will

  3. Gregory says:

    Will, I just realized that the several week long episode which happened AROUND me in the Spring of 2012 destroyed “mercilessly, without any compromises whatsoever, in the mentation and feelings of (this) reader, the beliefs and views, by centuries rooted in him, about everything existing in the world.” (What took so long to see this?) I was able to stay alert, do my daily work, and stand my ground while sheer terror had its 24/7 way through me. It was only after this happened that I first heard this Other Voice I’ve experienced — The Voice of the Living Teacher ??? — behind the watered-glass of First Series text and its Initial Voice.
    I don’t view this “merciless destruction” as a one-shot deal. And I don’t see all merciless destruction processes as necessarily being this dramatic. This one was dramatic and I suspect that an inner resistance on my part coupled with an intense desire to Understand attracted it’s level of Force.
    I don’t by any means mean to be smug in saying this: had I run to a shrink, taken a pill, or —otherwise — diverted my attention to the effect of harmonic vibrations on the growth of plants ; ), I may have missed this altogether. Or worse,
    Thanks. And a belated birthday greeting to you and me.

  4. Allan Clews says:

    The first time I read Tales I was so upset at some of the things Mr. Gurdjieff wrote. The second time I read it I was so upset at myself for being so upset. And the third time I just smiled at how he had played me like I was an ‘idiot’ because the parts I hated and that had made me squirm the most contained the deepest truths. I’ve now read it many times (some chapters closer to 20 or 30 and done dozens of keyword searches) and listened to it eight times and still haven’t figured out how he did it.

    My belief in human progress… gone. My belief in the possibility of a universal awakening… gone. My belief in inalienable human rights… gone (a me-me-me property of the consequences of the organ kundabuffer). My belief in the power of love, hope and faith… well… there is love and then there is love and then there is love… which type are you talking about? And so on and so on.

    And when people who claim to be long-time students of the teachings post meme after meme of stuff Mr. Gurdjieff would have called bullshit on and display such ignorance, I want to reach through my computer grab them by the neck and shout ‘you better read Tales again.’

  5. willmesa says:

    I can only repeat with Mr. Gurdjieff:
    “…Subjectively, everyone is able to understand according to the level he occupies, for it is an objective book, and everyone should understand something in it. One person understands one part, another a thousand times more. Now, find a way to put your attention on understanding all of Beelzebub….”

Leave a Reply

