The Very Foundation of the Myth: An Important Discovery for Me (Us).

After years and years of being exposed to the most complete Myth of our times, the one created by G. I. Gurdjieff in his opus magnum “Beelzebub’s Tales to His Grandson,” I discovered the very foundation of the Myth.

I discovered it very accidentally, like most great discoveries are made, although there are no accidents at the level of the subconscious and what looks like an accident or a coincidence is nothing but the result of a work in progress. But for me personally the discovery regardless of its nature was even more transcendental because I also discovered how the Myth incarnates in me, at least at my own cosmic level of Being. And since the Myth is Universal, the Myth incarnates in all of us.

I discovered it while addressing a photo in a photo album by the name of Lithium that I have found to be a Microcosm of the Cosmos known as Beelzebub’s Tales. Here is a link to all the discoveries I have made in relation to this album in connection to Beelzebub’s Tales:

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1897429&o=all&op=1&view=all&subj=36070984963&id=1217230799

My discovery came when I was reflecting on the photo of this photo I have called the Subconscious, as you will see if you read all my posts in reference to the photo and the whole album of which this photo is only one, the one I have called Woman or the Subconscious. As I was reflecting on the fact that Woman had added the Devil to what I have designated as the Microcosm Woman created, I remembered what Mr. Gurdjieff had said about the Devil in the Prologue to his third series of books or Life is real only then, when “I am.”

In this Prologue, Mr. Gurdjieff tells us all we need to know about the writing of his book and the fulfillment of his mission in life. We must read this Prologue because it is the best teaching on what Mr. Gurdjieff called in Beelzebub’s Tales Being-Partkdolg-Duty which he defined as “conscious labors” and “intentional suffering.” The teaching Mr. Gurdjieff gave us in his Legominism is a teaching by example, the only kind of teaching that can penetrate in our Subconscious and awake our dormant Conscience and give rise in us to the Real Consciousness, which is the fundamental Aim of his Legominism. Ideas, no matter how deep they are, stay only at the level of our ordinary consciousness, the consciousness Mr. Gurdjieff refers to as our fictitious consciousness in contrast with the Real Consciousness.

In a part of this Prologue, Mr. Gurdjieff tells us of an almost delirious self-reasoning he experienced precisely on the edge of the Gobi Dessert. What he saw on this edge separating Life and Death, was something no other spiritual teacher had seen before. But let him speak for himself. Here is Mr. Gurdjieff in his words in the Prologue to Life is real only then, when “I am:”

“Everything, without exception, all sound logic as well as all historical data, reveal and affirm that God represents absolute goodness; He is all-loving and all-forgiving. He is the just pacifier of all that exists.

At the same time why should He, being as He is, send away from Himself one of His nearest, by Him animated, beloved sons, only for the “way of pride” proper to any young and still incompletely formed individual, and bestow upon him a force equal but opposite to His own? . . . I refer to the “Devil.”

This idea illuminated the condition of my inner world like the sun, and rendered it obvious that in the great world for the possibility of harmonious construction there was inevitably required some kind of continuous perpetuation of the reminding factor.

For this reason our Maker Himself, in the name of all that He had created, was compelled to place one of His beloved sons in such an, in the objective sense, invidious situation.”

From then on this idea became Mr. Gurdjieff whim in life: To bring a new conception of God. And he indeed fulfilled his whim because he indeed brought a new conception of God with this idea.

The whole Foundation of the Myth Beelzebub’s Tales is this idea Mr. Gurdjieff discovered on the edge of the Gobi dessert.

For God to remember Himself in our Solar system, on Earth, Beelzebub had to be exiled to our Solar system.

For me, a creation in the image of God, to remember myself in my Whole essence, I need the Devil in me as a reminder factor of God in me.

The Devil has to be exiled in me (us), if I (we) wish, to remember myself (ourselves). No other spiritual teacher even told us that and, indeed, Mr. Gurdjieff brought a new conception of God, as he wished his whole life.

Regards,

Will

About willmesa

I have been studying and working with the ideas of G.I. Gurdjieff exposed in his Opus Magnum Beelzebub’s Tales to His Grandson. The intention of this blog is to share these ideas with people around the world. For more information about me, please search in Google for Will Mesa
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Very Foundation of the Myth: An Important Discovery for Me (Us).

  1. Eso says:

    The split happens at every moment in time, yet we are unaware of this action. There is dual purpose in everything, while at the same time, nothing can manifest without the primal triad.

    ” When the devil was ill, the devil a saint would be. Upon recovery the vows of sanctity forgets he.”

    Great post! Thank you for sharing

    Eso

    • willmesa says:

      Thanks Eso for your valuable comments.

      I totally agree with you that there dual purpose in everything and yet nothing can manifest without the primal triad. The best example of this is the Okidanokh, the symbol Mr. Gurdjieff used to bring materiality to the Law of Three. The duality between the two opposing forces of this omnipresent Substance gives right to the phenomenon known as electricity and there is purpose in it, but is only partial purpose which manifests in the form of artificial light. Rea phenomenon manifests only when the triad is complete with appearance of the third force and the light appearing is invisible! It is the same with the operation of the Sacred Triamazikamno in us.

      Thanks again,

      Will

  2. Will Mesa says:

    Hi All,

    The discovery Mr. Gurdjieff made on the edge of the Gobi dessert has very practical implications for the seeker committed to living a conscious life among other beings.

    If I am able to isolate a part of me that is now a very strong crystallization with an independent personality of its own, say a little devil in me, then this little devil can help me to remember myself during my life among all beings. This devil can change from an independent personality manifesting unconsciously to a perennial reminder factor for self-remembering. This is the idea behind God exiling the Devil in order for God to be able to remember Himself in relation to His own Creation. I first find my own devil, and then I isolate it until it becomes my constant reminder factor for self-remembering.

    Here is a very powerful simile in relation to this great idea. The oyster isolates a piece of sand and by keeping this piece of isolated sand, the oysetr fabricates a pearl. Out of the isolated little devil living in isolation and constantly reminder myself to remember myself, eventually becomes my most precious pearl.

    Regards to all readers,

    Will Mesa

Leave a Reply

